|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Signature move

There are no concerts this week (aside from some free events at Strathmore – check it out right now!), so instead I thought I’d hit you with some pictures, and then smack you in the face with a sock filled with queries.

I took these photos of NADJA SALERNO-SONNENBERG during intermission at her recent BSO concert. She doesn’t hold particularly still.

And here’s the phone case she signed for me! She was a bit taken aback by my request, but my reasoning is that if I had her sign my program, at best I’d have it lying around and at worst I’d lose it. My phone case, however, I see all the time, and I can look at it and smile. Logic!

Now please get out some pens and ruled paper, because I have some discussion questions for you:

  1. There never were very many people in line to see NADJA. I don’t think it was widely advertised – I only knew to look myself because I’m friends with the front of house guy – so: when attending a concert with a big name artist, do you assume there will be a signing, and do you pursue it?
  2. Have you met many big musical deals at signings? Who’s the biggest?
  3. If you could have your favorite artist sign anything you wanted, what would it be?
  4. NADJA’s handler looks pretty sour, don’t you think?

For super bonus points: if you’re a big enough deal to have signed things for others, what’s your view of the experience? (You can answer this hypothetically if you like.)

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Signature move

  1. Interesting topic!
    1. I assume no signings. Most of the ‘big deals’ I’ve come across are hoarded by bigtime donors, so that regular ticket buyers don’t get much of a chance. Many artistes hide in the green room, but it’s also difficult to get changed and be presentable within a few minutes!
    2. Biggest? Chevy Chase (did you know he’s quite an accomplished pianist?) or Lenny Bernstein. Admittedly, not at signings.
    3. My copy of the score of whatever they performed.
    4. Typical. Anything out of the ordinary is a hassle for many folk.

    5. Plenty of autographs, but no real signing sessions with a table, et al (because I’m not a big deal!). But I do love meeting the audience.

    Posted by Stephen P Brown | June 20, 2012, 8:34 am

Leave a Reply

