|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

There Are Many Princes, But There Is Only One Concert Roundup

Man, but I love Beethoven.

  • You’re mocking me. I just know you’re mocking me, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, titling this week’s concert “Beethoven and Mozart.” Is it the Composer Cagematch! thing? Is it just because you can’t resist needling me? And then tossing Schubert in there too, trying to appeal to my soft side. Sigh. I guess it worked. Mozart‘s Symphony No. 40, Beethoven‘s Piano Concerto No. 3, Schubert‘s Symphony No. 6, my emotional roller coaster. May 31 at Strathmore; June 1 & 2 at the Meyerhoff. [ See it! ]
  • Let’s go over here to the National Symphony Orchestra now, because I’ll be at that concert! Yay! And why will I be there? Why, only for the greatest symphony ever written, of course! I’m talking about Beethoven‘s Symphony No. 7 (SLOW MOVEMENT SLOW MOVEMENT SLOW MOVEMENT) (FINALE HORNS) (SQUEE). Oh, yeah, also a newly commissioned work by Shepherd and Richard Strauss‘s Der Rosenkavalier, but let’s not pretend we don’t know what’s really important here (BEETHOVEN’S SEVENTH). May 31 – June 2. [ See it! ]
  • This week at Strathmore, a smart, funny singer-songwriter takes the Mansion, plus Broadway legend Tommy Tune. [ See the calendar! ]
About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

