|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Concert Roundup: This Time It’s Personal

My apartment building is so weird. Sometimes HALF the power is out. This morning all my lights worked, my TV and Xbox worked, my chargers worked. My fridge was off and my internet, while recognizable, wasn’t usable. I only just got it back, and that, my friends, is why today’s concert roundup is late. In other words, please address all your complaints to the building manager and I’ll forward them along. Thanks!

  • I’m a little puzzled by this week’s Baltimore Symphony Orchestra concert. It’s called “The Music of Elton John and More.” It doesn’t say what the “more” is and it doesn’t say the BSO isn’t playing, so I guess it must be accompanying the Michael Cavanaugh vocalist/pianist person. Who comes with a Broadway resume, apparently. If you really like Elton John — and I understand many do — you’ve got nothing to lose. October 13 at Strathmore and October 14 through 16 at the Meyerhoff. See it!
  • The National Symphony Orchestra is also going poppy this week with a concert devoted to Rodgers and Hammerstein. I have already proudly announced my love for The Sound of Music and distrust for those who dismiss it outright, so I think we all know where I stand on the R&H issue. Plus they’re featuring a whole bunch of Broadway-types too, in addition to The Washington Chorus. At the Kennedy Center concert hall, October 13 through 15. See it!
About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

