|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Composer Cagematch!: Bernstein vs. Gershwin

I’m not surprised that Schoenberg won his bout. I mean, he’s kind of a big deal. I had a fantastic time touring the Schoenberg museum, with its little music clips and interviews with Schoenberg’s kids and of course a video demonstration of his chess alternatives (oh, man, I should so make that my Monday video!).

I must say, though, I’m a little disappointed that we won’t be seeing Berg again, because now I have to drop my looks-just-like bomb at his goodbye-party instead of preceding his triumphant return. Ah well. He looks just like Dan Stevens as Matthew from Downton Abbey plus ten years. Twenty years? An older version. Cool. Thanks for playing, Berg.

Okay. And now I’m just gonna do it. They told me not to; they tried to dissuade me with other, more “appropriate” matches, but I don’t care. In style they may not be a perfect setup, but in time and place and Americana they are both quintessential. So:

In this corner, he’s a Jet, and a Jet all the way! It’s


LEEEEEEEEEONAAAAAAAAAARD BEEEEEEEEERSTEEEEEEEEEIN*

And in this corner, he dressed up Jazz and took her to the concert hall! It’s


GEOOOOOOOOOOOOOORGE GERRRRRRRRRRRRSHWIIIIIIIIIIIIIN*

Yeah I went there.

* Interesting fact: neither one used their birth name.

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Composer Cagematch!: Bernstein vs. Gershwin

  1. Are we to rely solely on COMPOSITIONS as opposed to any other aspect of these fabulous guys’ work? i.e. it’s very easy to be intimidated by LB’s teaching and performing success, but strictly on compositional terms, GG has quite an edge (I think).

    Posted by Stephen P Brown (@Stephen_P_Brown) | August 10, 2011, 9:23 am
    • The beauty of the CC! is that you may choose based on whatever criteria you wish, but I counsel going with your gut. Remember: it’s not who’s better, it’s who you love most. 😀

      Posted by Jenn | August 10, 2011, 9:39 am
  2. I knew it. A whitewash! Maybe in a few years if someone like Alsop does for Lenny what he did for Gustav.

    Posted by Terry | August 23, 2011, 8:34 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Take me to your conductor « If it ain't Baroque… - August 22, 2011

  2. Pingback: Composer Cagematch!: Handel vs. Haydn « If it ain't Baroque… - August 24, 2011

  3. Pingback: Composer Cagematch! Round 2: Gershwin vs. Chopin « If it ain't Baroque… - February 14, 2012

  4. Pingback: Composer Cagematch!: THE WINNER « If it ain't Baroque… - June 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

