ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Don’t hassle the ‘Moff

Haha, whoops!

Today’s post was supposed to be the Composer Cagematch!, but I while writing it yesterday afternoon I accidentally hit “publish” instead of “save draft.” I figured instead of backpedaling I’d just let it roll, so the BSO concert post got to move up a day and on Wednesday I’ll subject you to a brief post about the new store. It kinda ties in; there are Composer Cagematch! t-shirts to discuss.

So this week’s BSO concert is called “Rachmaninoff’s Paganini Rhapsody.” See, they knew I’d be ready to mock Rach, so they decided to sandwich his Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini between two Prokofiev symphonies, causing me to melt into a happy daze and forget whatever mean jab I was about to make about the ‘Moff. The Prokofiev peace offerings are his Symphony No. 1, the “Classical,” and his Symphony No. 6, a reaction to WWII. Color me appeased and intrigued.

Alsop conducts, Lukas Vondracek is your solist, and you can see it at the Meyerhoff on Friday, March 4 at 8 pm and Sunday, March 6 at 3 pm. Or head to Strathmore on Saturday, March 5 at 8 pm. Just concentrate on the Prokofiev, breath through the Rachmaninoff, and you’ll be fine. (BURN! Suck it, “they.”)

Updated to add: The next BSO season lineup has been revealed! Check it out — you’ll want to be able to follow along when I do my rundown.


About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: