|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

As if being closeted wasn’t bad enough

Could someone please explain to me the Tchaikovsky snobs?

Seriously, they’re everywhere — people who hate on Tchaikovsky. I mean, we skipped right over him in my music history survey course. I asked the professor why, and he said, “Tchaikovsky wasn’t an innovator.” Well excuuuuuuse me.

And then my friend’s dad would listen to Tchaikovsky exactly once per year, The Nutcracker score at Christmas, and he would spend half the time declaring acidly that this was the only Tchaikovsky he would allow in his house (he gets a pass, though, for his feelings on Mozart).

There are even traitors among my friends, who decline to get behind Serenade for Strings! I mean, WHAT? How can you listen to the beginning of the first movement without love? Even band people must listen to the beginning of the first movement with love!

Romeo and Juliet — okay, I’ll give you that one: it’s one of the most painfully schmoopy things I’ve ever heard in my life. Sometimes his many ballet scores start to run together. But his first piano concerto! There are snippets of brilliance in those ballet scores! I like the 1812 Overture, and I don’t care what you say!

So tell me — is my taste just that unsophisticated? Or would you be open to the suggestion that you might be a bunch of Snobby McSnobersons from Snobbytown?

Why y’all hating on Tchike, yo?

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “As if being closeted wasn’t bad enough

  1. One of my most popular/ heavily RTd and replied to tweets was “I still like Tchaikovsky”.

    Posted by Stephen P Brown | January 5, 2011, 8:58 am
  2. Plus, he has a cool name. How can you not like someone with a name like that?

    Posted by cate | January 5, 2011, 10:31 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A chance to shine, squandered « If it ain't Baroque… - February 22, 2011

  2. Pingback: Composer Cagematch!: Rachmaninoff vs. Tchaikovsky « If it ain't Baroque… - May 24, 2011

  3. Pingback: Tchaikovsky, the third grade, and me « If it ain't Baroque… - October 11, 2011

  4. Pingback: Concert Roundup: Some Will Be Pardoned and Some Punish-ed « If it ain't Baroque… - April 4, 2012

  5. Pingback: There Are Many Blogs, But There Is Only ONE Concert Roundup « If it ain't Baroque… - October 3, 2012

Leave a Reply

