|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Doing it badly

I got into my car this morning on my way to work, and what was on the radio the moment it started? Why, Gustav Holst’s St. Paul’s Suite! I LOVE St. Paul’s Suite! I played it my freshman year of high school, the really awesome year where we had like five people in the orchestra and I WAS the first violin section. I stayed in my car three extra minutes after pulling into a parking space at work to hear the end of the fourth movement (no worries; I was early).

This evening I had dinner with my grandmother, and as I started my car for that trip I was regaled with the final few bars of the “Jupiter” movement from Holst’s The Planets. And I said to myself, what, is it Holst’s birthday or something? The deejay confirmed. So as a means of commemorating this very special day, being as it is the day of possibly my very favorite British composer, I present to you: a quote by the man himself, on amateur musicianship.

“If a thing is worth doing at all, it is worth doing badly.”

Amen, brother.

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

One thought on “Doing it badly

  1. Holst is also EXTREMELY important in the literature & origins of American Wind Band music – and wind band literature in general. Plus, he had love for the EUPHONIUM! This is my instrument, and in high school we played transcriptions of Mars & Jupiter…

    I love your promotion of this British icon – continue to the good work.

    Peace out,

    Dr. Carney

    Posted by Dr. Carney | September 22, 2010, 11:15 am

Leave a Reply

