|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

What Douglas Adams might call a “Whole Sort of General Mish-Mash”

I know you all love an eclectic collection of unrelated bullet points.

– I think, based on the fact that a lot of the profile photos show people with instruments, that some of you are friending me on Facebook. Which is totally cool and I’m down with being your internet buddy, except if I don’t know who you are or why you’re friending me I am generally disinclined to accept. In short, if you friend me, or you did friend me and I never reciprocated, send me a message explaining that you’re a fan of Ain’t Baroque and we shall carry on in peace and love.

– You can still win a Symphonic Voyage cruise if you purchase a BSO subscription package!

– The consensus among my friends is that if The Golden Girls was recast with composers, Bach would have to be Sophia. I don’t know, we’re weird. We also need help with the rest of the cast, if you have any ideas. I’d love to do a whole post on this; it’s the sort of thing I’d do, but I worry my long-suffering audience would finally rebel.

– There is a fire drill exclusive to the summer camps that have moved into Strathmore going on right now (have I mentioned the summer camps? I have been inundated by an unusually large number of children and I disapprove of children in groups as they revert to their baser instincts in the herd). No one else is required to evacuate, but I’ve spent the last five minutes listening to a recorded message requesting me attention about a fire emergency on repeat. I am dangerously close to spontaneous combustion. Talk about your self-fulfilling prophecies. Anyway, did anyone go to a music/arts summer camp as a kid? What say you of the experience?

Updated to add: The BSO Academy needs more fans so that Facebook will recognize it! Become a fan now! NOW!

That’s all.

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “What Douglas Adams might call a “Whole Sort of General Mish-Mash”

  1. Thiis is the message you get when you click your link to “Become a fan now”…

    The page you requested was not found.
    You may have clicked an expired link or mistyped the address. Some web addresses are case sensitive.

    ■Return home
    ■Go back to the previous page

    Posted by Christine Petrolati | June 30, 2010, 4:38 am
  2. One time, in band camp…. (sorry, couldn’t help myself)

    I did not attend a formal music “camp”, but when I was very young (4-7 grade), I attended a tiny private school. In the summer, all the kids in band (comprised of 4-8th graders – which totaled 25-35 kids max each of those 3 years) went to a summer day “camp” filled with musical activities, arts, and crafts. The camp concept wasn’t based on performance/practice, or even applied music/private lessons. In fact, we NEVER played our instruments – maybe sang – but no playing our instruments. We did, as I recall, look at & touch ALL the instruments to learn about them.

    We primarily focused on LISTENING to music. Music was explained and analyzed. We would read about composers and the inspiration to various symphonies, operas, concerti, and marches. Sometimes music was simply “on” as we worked on art projects – related or not. At the time, I thought it was just a place to see my school friends and listen to stories via music – now I feel it was the most important part of my musical upbringing.

    I was certainly blessed to have a music educator at our tiny private school with a larger vision of music education. He clearly understood music as an art, and knew that exposing us to music in all types of shapes and forms would leave a lasting impression – FAR exceeding simple practicing & performing moments.

    This was PURE music appreciation: (a) we were comfortable being receptive (sometimes directly, sometimes indirectly), (b) we discussed works or composers on our terms without a “fear” of being tested or asking the wrong questions, and (c) this music was so “new” to us (Mozart, Sousa, Beethoven, Grainger, Verdi, Holst, etc…) – we were mesmerized by the background as much as the foreground.

    He had also planned several trips for us: hikes, beach, Amusement parks (this was central Florida after all) and concerts – all kinds of concerts! Visiting Symphonies (London, Chicago..), traveling shows (Annie, Amadues…), chamber groups (Canadian Brass & several string quartets), etc…. It was something else. And he would – as a great teacher he was – related the things we did at one point in the “camp” to another – all the while allowing us to be kids. Amazing, really.

    Great memories! Thanks for bringing that up, Jenn!

    Peace out –

    Dr. Carney

    Posted by Dr. Carney | June 30, 2010, 10:30 am

Leave a Reply

