|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

A German Requiem, but not for me personally

It’s just one exciting thing after another here at Strathmore! Today I am late in posting because I just spent the past 4+ hours in Tessitura/TMS hell (don’t ask). But I’m here now, and ever so eager to tell you all about the BSO concert I attended last Thursday.

It was the “Brahms’ A German Requiem” concert that I mentioned last week, the last concert of the regular 2009-2010 season. The program was very simple – Barber’s Knoxville: Summer of 1915 and Brahms’ A German Requiem. Here’s what I thought!

The Barber: I really enjoyed this piece. It was everything promised – mellow, gentle, unerringly Southern. Janice Chandler-Eteme, the soprano performing, had a beautiful, easy voice; she didn’t sound like she was straining to show off, and her tones were pleasant and simple and befitting such a piece. I must say, though, girlfriend needs to work on her diction. I could only understand one in maybe seven words.

The Brahms: I actually have very little to say about Brahms. I’m going to post two quotes about him instead. Please keep in mind that I did not say them. I just posted them. This makes me an innocent intermediary, right? Oh, Brahms is okay. I guess.

The real Brahms is nothing more than a sentimental voluptuary… He is the most wanton of composers… Only his wantonness is not vicious; it is that of a great baby… rather tiresomely addicted to dressing himself up as Handel or Beethoven and making a prolonged and intolerable noise. (George Bernard Shaw)

I have played over the music of that scoundrel Brahms. What a giftless bastard! (Tchaikovsky)

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “A German Requiem, but not for me personally

  1. Well done Jenn –

    Did you go into the performance with these quotes in hand? I’m just curious. 🙂

    Peace out –

    Dr. Carney

    Posted by Dr. Carney | June 16, 2010, 8:32 pm
    • Naaah, I’m none so malicious as all that. But I sat down to write the post and discovered I didn’t really have anything to say about Brahms. Ever, really. He’s the little B, after all. But I found those two quotes and they were way too funny not to post. 😀

      Posted by Jenn | June 17, 2010, 8:59 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Music Gifts: Leg-o-less the Piano « If it ain't Baroque… - December 6, 2011

  2. Pingback: Andre Watts, Colin Currie, and Jean-Yves Thibaudet are always hanging in my apartment « If it ain't Baroque… - March 20, 2012

  3. Pingback: Composer Cagematch!: Barber vs. Ives | If it ain't Baroque... - March 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

