|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Please provide counterpoint

I’d like to preface this post with the observation that a lot of you have been responding to posts via Twitter. I love hearing what you have to say, I love mentions, and I especially love retweets (hint, hint :D), but it occurs to me that for the most part I’m the only one that sees them. A lot of you have really awesome points to make, and I encourage you to comment directly on posts so that other readers can see what you have to say and respond if they so choose. After all, who doesn’t like a friendly argument? Not me!

Which leads me to a query! Yay! I’ve been going on in a lot of posts how musicians and conductors seem to feel a need to play everything, to paraphrase the middle name of Kakofonous A. Dischord, AS FAST AS POSSIBLE. I have been vocal in my displeasure at this mindset. However, there are some pieces that benefit from a super speedy tempo, and I’ve been endeavoring to think of some.

  1. “The Arrival of the Queen of Sheba” from Solomon by Handel
  2. “Flight of the Bumble Bee” by Rimsky-Korsakov
  3. “Sabre Dance” from Gayane by Khachaturian

Uhhh… help me out, guys.

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

