|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

A measure’s rest, if you will

Today we are taking a brief break from music. I know; sacrilege, right? But here at Ain’t Baroque we believe in being well-rounded artistic individuals, and as such, I am again hearkening back to an earlier post. As part of my new “oldies for newbies” program (weekends I post links to old entries) I recently dug up my musical quotes post. In it I noted that I had a bunch of quotes related to other cultural endeavors, and if there was interest in branching out a bit I would put them up too. There was, so I am. As promised, Salvador Dali delivers.

  1. “Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” E. L. Doctorow
  2. “I don’t understand anything about ballet; all I know is that during the intervals the ballerinas stink like horses.” Anton Chekhov
  3. “Do not imagine that art is something which is designed to give gentle uplift and self-confidence. Art is not a brassiere. At least, not in the English sense. But do not forget that brassiere is the French for life-jacket.” Julian Barnes
  4. “All art is autobiographical; the pearl is the oyster’s autobiography.” Federico Fellini
  5. “This is a thousand times more frightening than The Exorcist. I intend to cover it with mayonnaise.” Salvador Dali (I told you)
  6. “I’m not confused, I’m just well-mixed.” Robert Frost
  7. “Those who make a distinction between education and entertainment don’t know the first thing about either.” Marshall McLuhan
  8. “Art is the only way to run away without leaving home.” Twyla Tharp
  9. “For your born writer, nothing is so healing as the realization that he has come upon the right word.” Catherine Drinker Bowen
  10. “It is frequently the tragedy of the great artist, as it is of the great scientist, that he frightens the ordinary man.” Loren Eiseley
  11. “Creative minds have always been known to survive any kind of bad training.” Anna Freud
  12. “The artist must bow to the monster of his own imagination.” Richard Wright
  13. “I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.” Michelangelo Buonarotti
  14. “Beautiful? It’s all a question of luck. I was born with good legs. As for the rest… beautiful, no. Amusing, yes.” Josephine Baker
  15. “Take me! I am the hallucinogenic!” Salvador Dali
  16. “Acting is a masochistic form of exhibitionism. It is not quite the occupation of an adult.” Sir Laurence Olivier
  17. “At least one way of measuring the freedom of any society is the amount of comedy that is permitted, and clearly a healthy society permits more satirical comment than a repressive, so that if comedy is to function in some way as a safety release then it must obviously deal with these taboo areas. This is part of the responsibility we accord our licensed jesters, that nothing be excused the searching light of comedy. If anything can survive the probe of humour it is clearly of value, and conversely all groups who claim immunity from laughter are claiming special privileges which should not be granted.” Eric Idle
  18. “I will be brief. Not nearly so brief as Salvador Dali, who gave the world’s shortest speech. He said ‘I will be so brief I have already finished,’ and he sat down.” Edward O. Wilson quoting Dali

Whew! Sorry, that one got away from me. I skipped a couple, too.

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

