|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

All that jazz

Hey, remember this gateway playlist post from last week? The one about a playlist to coerce a non classical music listener over to the dark side? Right, well, I started discussing it with Aram, one of my Twitter followers, and at some point it came out that I am somewhat leery of jazz. As in, I took a course in jazz history in college and I’m still wary (Hi Dr. Schweitzer!). Although I get an enormous kick out of saying Dizzy Gillespie. Dizzy Gillespie Dizzy Gillespie Dizzy Gillespie. Yes.

Where was I? Oh yes. Aram. He’s jazztastic with the saxophone and felt my jazzphobia needed to be corrected. I told him that I did have a fondness for Gershwin and vocal jazz a la Judy Garland, and with that and only his youth and hope to guide him he made me a Jazz Phobic’s Gateway Playlist. Really! So says the man himself!

I’m a senior at Lebanon Valley College near Harrisburg, PA, and in May I’ll be graduating with degrees in Music Education and Music with a Jazz Studies concentration.  I’ve been listening to jazz since I started to play the saxophone in fourth grade and enjoy sharing my passion for it with others.

The goal of the playlist was to take the classical music listener to modern style jazz in baby steps, working through standards and some more obscure selections.  Obviously there are a lot of directions that this can be taken – many of these choices are made based on my personal preferences as well as what you said about liking vocal jazz.  I’m by no means an expert, but it’s a fun little thought experiment to make something like this…

He sent me this in an Excel spreadsheet, and when the first cell said “Rhapsody in Blue” I thought, <Eddie Izzard Voice>I will do well here.</EIV>

Remember, if you’d like me to make a gateway playlist for someone or you’d like me to post one of yours, drop me a line.

Playlist after the cut!

Hey Aram, I wasn’t sure about formatting for most of these, so if I messed something up let me know.

  1. Rhapsody in Blue, by George Gershwin
  2. Stanza 3: The Handsome Traffic Policeman, by Duke Ellington
  3. C’ Jam Blues, by Duke Ellington
  4. Jumpin’ at the Woodside, by Count Basie
  5. Mack the Knife, by Bobby Darin
  6. “They Can’t Take That Away from Me” from Crazy For You, by Sarah Vaughan
  7. Margie, by Maceo Parker
  8. Bugle Call Rag, by Buddy Rich
  9. Blues March, by Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers
  10. Straight, No Chaser, by Thelonious Monk (also fun to say!)
  11. Mumbles, by Clark Terry
  12. The Jody Grind, by Horace Silver
  13. Blue Bossa, by Bobby McFerrin
  14. Bags’ Groove, by the Modern Jazz Quartet
  15. Blue Monk, by Bill Evans
  16. St. Thomas, by Sonny Rollins
  17. Mr. P. C., by John Coltrane
  18. ‘C Jamm Blues,’ by Gerald Albright
  19. Chronology, by Ornette Coleman
  20. Soon All Will Know, by Wynton Marsalis
  21. Bubblehouse, by Medeski, Martin, and Wood
  22. Jubilee, by Spyro Gyra
  23. The Bridge, by Sonny Rollins
About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

