|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Holst could lead to harder movements

“I think,” he said, “I’m going to download some classical music to my phone to listen to while I study.”

“Ooh!” I said. “I’ll burn you a CD! Would you like soft, relaxed stuff?”

“Yeah.” He hesitated. “But could you put that one piece I like on there?”

“‘Jupiter’? Sure, I can do that.”

Oh, what a mistake he made when he asked for Holst’s Jupiter. I first introduced him to the piece in full after hearing a snippet in a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup commercial (true story!). He loved it! It was like the classical music equivalent of a gateway drug. And by asking for it again, he completely changed the context in which I created the mix.

See, originally it was to be a quiet-music-for-studying playlist. With the inclusion of “Jupiter,” I turned it into a here’s-some-classical-music-I-think-could-pull-you-further-to-the-dark-side list, with a few soft study pieces thrown in here and there. I tailored it to a guy with a percussionist background who’s mostly into techno, and had a ton of fun pulling movements of this and that I thought might interest him.

And it occurred to me – I could do it again, or you could do it! So I offer you the following options:

  • Send me your gateway playlist, and tell me the sort of person it’s intended to entice, and I’ll post it; OR
  • Send me the sort of person you want to entice, and I’ll make a suitable gateway playlist.

Do it! It’ll be fun! In the meantime, the Studying Techno Percussionist’s Gateway Playlist after the jump:

  1. “Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity” from The Planets, by Gustav Holst
  2. Metropolis Symphony: V. Red Cape Tango, by Michael Daugherty
  3. The Pines of Rome, by Ottorino Respighi
  4. Romeo and Juliet: Act I, Scene 2, No. 13: Dance of the Knights, by Sergei Prokofiev
  5. Cappriccio Espagnol, Op. 34: 5. Fandango Asturiano, by Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov
  6. The Bach Double, performed by Time for Three
  7. Coppelia – Act I – Mazurka, by Leo Delibes
  8. Khovanschina: Dance of the Persian Slaves, by Modest Mussourgsky/Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov or some such
  9. Lieutenant Kije, Symphonic Suite, Op. 60: 2. Romance, by Sergei Prokofiev
  10. Petrouchka: Scene III – The Moor’s Room – Dance of the Ballerina, by Igor Stravinsky
  11. The Orange Blossom Special, performed by Time for Three
  12. Pictures at an Exhibition: The Great Gate of Kiev, by Modest Mussourgsky (orch. Ravel)
  13. Serenade for Strings in C Major, Op. 48, I. Pezzo in Forma di Sonatina, by Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  14. Simple Symphony, Op. 4: III. Sentimental Sarabande, by Benjamin Britten
  15. St. Paul’s Suite, H 118/Op. 29: I. Gigue, by Gustav Holst
  16. St. Paul’s Suite, H 118/Op. 29: IV. Intermezzo, by Gustav Holst
  17. String Quartet No. 14 in D Minor, D. 810, “Death and the Maiden:” I. Allegro
  18. Symphony No. 7 in A, Op. 92: II. Allegretto, by Ludwig von Beethoven
  19. Symphony No. 7 in A, Op. 92: IV. Allegro con brio, by Ludwig von Beethoven
  20. Symphony No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 125 – “Choral:” IV. a & b Presto, by Ludwig von Beethoven
  21. Rhapsody in Blue, by George Gershwin
About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: All that jazz « If it ain't Baroque… - March 3, 2010

  2. Pingback: Composer Cagematch!: Britten vs. Holst « If it ain't Baroque… - March 15, 2011

  3. Pingback: Worse than being ignored « If it ain't Baroque… - April 5, 2011

Leave a Reply

