|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Please call him by his proper name, Itzhak mothereffin’ Perlman

What I’m about to do to you is cruel. It’s cruel because I’m going to tell you all about this week’s Itzhak mothereffin’ Perlman concert, but unless you already have tickets you can’t go because it’s sold out. Actually, I think there are a few tickets left, but only the really, really ritzy expensive ones. Not that I wouldn’t endorse emptying your bank account to see Itzhak mothereffin’ Perlman in concert, mind you. If that interests you, click here to check for ticket availability.

Moving right along. The concert includes a Bach piece and Beethoven’s fifth, but never mind that (I know! I said never mind to Beethoven! Crazy talk!). Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings, people.

I know, I know. There are some snobby musicologists out there with much disdain for Tchaikovsky. I myself feel no particular need to hear his rendition of Romeo and Juliet ever again; honestly, he should’ve checked his crystal ball, acknowledged Prokofiev’s upcoming superior version, and not even bothered. But his Serenade for Strings is a thing of beauty and a joy forever. So I was very disturbed to read this in the program notes:

The love stemmed from Tchaikovsky’s passion for Mozart, his favorite composer. “I don’t just like Mozart, I idolize him,” he wrote his devoted patroness Nadezhda von Meck. The Serenade pays homage to the enchanting world of Mozart’s serenades and divertimentos, such as Eine kleine Nachtmusik.

Bleh. Thank God for redemption: “But while Tchaikovsky borrowed certain Mozartean stylistic conventions, his all-string orchestra is much larger than the dozen or so players used for Mozart’s serenades, and the heart of the work is purely his own.”

Mozart as the inspiration, bah. I think they made that up just to torment me.

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Stop! Gala time! « If it ain't Baroque… - September 9, 2011

Leave a Reply

