|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

it’s a small world after all

As promised, I now offer my music- and culture-related photos from my Disney trip. The larger majority of them were taken by me, although a few were taken by my dear friend and traveling companion, Elizabeth.

Speaking of Elizabeth, clearly she is supportive of the BSO.

Here we have African dancers and drummers at the Animal Kingdom. At certain points of the day they would pull people from the audience to dance with them. I escaped this fate, although we were drawn into clapping, and clapping on the beat, thank you very much.

Also in the the Animal Kingdom, we have an area composed entirely of African drums for kids (or what amounts to kids, such as myself) to bang on experimentally.

Also also at the Animal Kingdom (they’re on fire!) is the Festival of the Lion King, an absolutely fantastic musical show and quite possibly my favorite thing in the World. At the end they go into the audience and find children to participate in a parade around the theater, playing traditional African percussion instruments.

These Mozart-branded chocolate were in the Germany pavilion (evidently Germany and Austria are interchangeable? Who knew!). They are hazelnut flavored inside and absolutely delicious. Heart shape or ball shape! I mean, what?

In the Canada pavilion, Off Kilter rocks out with their bagpipes out. You take the high road and I’ll take the low road, and I’ll get to Scotland before ye!

And finally (photographically, that is; there is much more music in the World than I could capture all at once), in Disney’s Hollywood Studios you can be Singin’ in the Rain. The camera doesn’t pick it up, but when you step on the grate underneath the umbrella, a rain shower activates over you. Oh, the realism!

Remember, if you missed my fabulous Disney music tweets as I tweeted them, you can reread the entire Twitter feed here. And follow me while you’re there. Good times.

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “it’s a small world after all

  1. I once leaned over and rang the Liberty Bell in Magic Kingdom. Wow, that thing was loud! Of course trying this in Philly probably would have gotten me shot.

    Posted by eric | February 16, 2010, 1:10 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A dream is a wish your heart makes « If it ain't Baroque… - June 1, 2011

  2. Pingback: In which I use a lot of shouty capitals « If it ain't Baroque… - February 19, 2013

Leave a Reply

