|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

The aftermath of purging files

Sounds appetizing, doesn’t it?

Don’t worry, all I mean is that I ran across my old quote collection from five, six, even seven years ago (of course I’m dorky enough to have had a quote collection) and while sifting through it I figured you might enjoy some of the music related ones. So here you go.

 

  1. “When I was young, I used to have successes with women because I was young. Now I have successes with women because I am old. Middle age was the hardest part.” Artur Rubinstein
  2. “Sometimes when I sit down to practice and there is no one else in the room, I have to stifle an impulse to ring for the elevator man and offer him money to come in and hear me.” Artur Rubinstein
  3. “Berlioz says nothing in his music, but he says it magnificently.” James Gibbons Huneker
  4. “When I was young, I was told: ‘You’ll see, when you’re fifty.’ I am fifty and I haven’t seen a thing.” Erik Satie
  5. “When a piece gets difficult, make faces.” Vladimir Horowitz
  6. “My music is best understood by children and animals.” Igor Stravinsky
  7. “The Prelude to [Wagner’s] ‘Tristan und Isolde’ reminds one of the old Italian painting of a martyr whose intestines are slowly unwound from his body on a reel.” Eduard Hanslick
  8. “The child must know that he is a miracle, that since the beginning of the world there hasn’t been, and until the end of the world there will not be, another child like him.” Pablo Casals
  9. “There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.” Dr. Albert Schweitzer

I chose to sift out the non-music arts quotes, but if you guys feel like seeing how the other half lives, let me know. Salvador Dali alone is worth the price of admission (“Take me! I am the hallucinogenic!”).

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “The aftermath of purging files

  1. I still collect quotes. Those are good ones, thanks.

    Posted by jodru | January 27, 2010, 10:44 am
  2. I am interested in the non- music quotes. I am a quote dork too…

    Posted by Christine Petrolati | April 4, 2010, 8:24 am
  3. Artur Rubinstein wasn’t the most modest of pianists, was he? Maybe I’m just too prudent… *cough* jealous *cough* crap at piano.

    Otherwise, cool posts. Thought I’d end things on a high there.

    Posted by Jobe | July 24, 2010, 11:39 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A measure’s rest, if you will « If it ain't Baroque… - April 6, 2010

Leave a Reply

