|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

It’s for the children

Yesterday I put up a bunch of new homepage banners to advertise the BSO’s upcoming concerts, and let me just say I am every so pleased with my photoshopping job on the Polar Express one; do you see any evidence of a Caldecott medal on that sucker? NO YOU DO NOT.

I also put up banners for Too Hot To Handel and the Holiday Spectacular, but it’s the Polar Express concert that has me intrigued. I’m a huge Chris Van Allsburg fan (I have his Narnia covers and everything!) and I’m positive I must have read this at some point, but I don’t remember much of it (could someone please set The Mysteries of Harris Burdick to music? Because I’d be all over that). Apparently it’s about a kid who believes in Santa. Well heck, I do that. Where’s MY magical train?

I didn’t even know it came in a musical flavor. But it would appear it does, and you can see it at the Meyerhoff on Saturday, December 5th, at 11 am, because this is For the Children. Good thing I’m only eight on the inside.

I’m pretty sad there are no audio sample or program notes for this one, as I really want to know more about it. From what I can gather, though, the illustrations are going to be projected onto a screen, and they’re going to read the book and then intersperse it with music. Or else they sing it? There’s a children’s choir, that much I know for certain, and then a holiday sing-a-long at the end. Or something. Look, I’m confused.

As far as I can tell, though, tickets are only $12-20, and I’ve honestly never been to a BSO concert that wasn’t awesome (except that Rodeo one at age 10, but that wasn’t the orchestra’s fault), so especially if you have kids I’d definitely check it out; purchase tickets here. All the children’s concerts are preceding by the BSO KidZone, which includes activities like an instrument petting zoo and crafts, so don’t forget to get there early!

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

