|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

What is this? Christmastown?

I was in Target this morning to get a flu shot (my arrrrrm hurrrrrrts) and they had a gigantic display of Christmas trees, Hannukah sweaters for dogs (I swear), and other holiday decorations. As I mentioned, Starbucks cups are all printed with snowflakes and other holiday icons. We have a pile of holiday catalogues at my house, and of course the TV commercials are already holiday-centric.

Therefore I declare that this “the holiday season doesn’t start until the day after Thanksgiving” rule is sheer nonsense, and as such I feel entirely justified in posting my holiday mix now. It’s mostly classical music centered but I did sneak one or two not-technically-classical songs in there just because they make me smile.

I picked out my personal favorite bits of The Nutcracker that feel especially holiday-ish to me, but it was REALLY hard to decide. You can certainly include the whole thing; I know I do!

I also avoided most Christmas carols because you can select your favorites yourself; the one exception is my own favorite, and it comes with several caveats, as you will see. Enjoy!

  1. “Hallelujah Chorus” from Handel’s Messiah
  2. The Nutcracker: Scene 1, Overture, by Tchaikovsky
  3. The Nutcracker: Scene 3, Children’s Galop and Arrival of the Guests, by Tchaikovsky
  4. The Nutcracker: Scene 8, Journey through the Pine Forest, by Tchaikovsky
  5. The Nutcracker: Scene 9, Waltz of the Snowflakes, by Tchaikovsky
  6. The Nutcracker: Scene 12, Divertissements, by Tchaikovsky (this covers all the candies/countries, depending on which version you’re watching; I myself prefer the Baryshnikov)
  7. The Nutcracker: Scene 14, Variation 2: Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, by Tchaikovsky
  8. “What’s This?” from The Nightmare Before Christmas
  9. Carnival of the Animals, “Aquarium” (VII), by Saint-Saens
  10. “For Unto Us a Child is Born” from Handel’s Messiah
  11. Lieutenant Kije Suite, 4th Movement (“Troika”), by Prokofiev
  12. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas,” ONLY AS SUNG BY JUDY GARLAND, and none of this “hang a shining star upon the highest bow” crap; THOSE ARE NOT THE LYRICS. Thank you.
About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

