|
ain't baroque! :||
Don't Fix It

Yo Ma Ma so stupid, she can’t even yo-yo right

Okay! Let’s start the new year off right, shall we? Okay, then here’s a silly story.

Yesterday I went to lunch with my family, including my paternal grandmother, a delightful lady with eyes a few rods and cones away from true blindness but selective hearing. I happened to ask my mother if she was aware that, per the issue I had just read of Entertainment Weekly, Yo Yo Ma was close friends with Steve Jobs. (She didn’t, so I’m going to assume you didn’t either). Well, my grandmother decided that we were discussing yo-yos and began listing yo-yo tricks.

Naturally I found this hilarious, so I speedily texted it to someone I knew would appreciate it: blog regular Rebekah. She responded with, “My mom thinks his name is Yo Ma Ma.”

There’s an absurdist inside me and her cup runneth over, let me tell you.

But seriously, everything I hear about Yo Yo Ma makes him seem like a really nice guy who shouldn’t be subjected to yo mama jokes. So I’m going to pay tribute to him the best way I know how: with a Sesame Street clip. Murray Beethoven!

About Jenn

Despite being the former digital marketing intern at the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Jenn German does not like Mozart. Beethoven could've totally beaten him up. Also she has an arts management graduate degree from American University, but this changes nothing.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Yo Ma Ma so stupid, she can’t even yo-yo right

  1. Maybe this is a sign I should start a blog about my mother.

    Posted by Sneaky | January 3, 2012, 1:07 am
  2. The video is awesome. It makes me wish I watched more Sesame Street as a kid.

    Posted by Cristina Haines | September 6, 2012, 10:40 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,746 other followers

